Success is doing ordinary things extraordinarily well - and we are pretty good at this!

city CDI-Registered Prof-final SET freeindex logo_directory

© Crescent Training 2013. All Rights Reserved

ILM_Logo_APPC_RGB_LO IA logo transparent background

At Level 3 (Certificate) there are three qualifications available:


• Understanding the Principles and Practices of Learning and Development

• Facilitate Learning and Development

• Certificate in Learning and Development


At Level 4 (Diploma) you may chose between two options:


• Award in Learning and Development

• Diploma in Learning and Development


Some of the units that appear in the Level 3 Award in Facilitating Learning and Development and Level 3 Certificate also occur in the Level 4 Diploma. This assists candidates to accumulate credits, transfer them and progress, both horizontally (into more comprehensive qualifications at the same level) and vertically (up a level).


Progression Route Example


Step 1: You may decide to begin with the Level 3 Award in Understanding the Principles and Practices of Learning and Development - consisting of one unit only (worth 6 credits). The unit focuses the Learning and Development Cycle and other key theory principles, providing you with the relevant underpinning knowledge. Why not take this unit to prepare for getting a job in Learning and Development?


Step 2:  On completion, this unit can be transferred towards the Level 3 Award in Facilitating Learning and Development – a 12 credit qualification (comprising two units). This qualification requires the  knowledge and understanding unit described in Step 1 plus the achievement of a second unit which covers facilitating learner development in one of two contexts (either working with groups, or with individual learners). This makes it an ideal qualification for any assessor, trainer, coach or mentor.  


Step 3: Following on from there you may want to progress to the Level 3 Certificate in Learning and Development – a 30 credit qualification. Any candidate achieving the Level 3 Award in Facilitating Learning and Development (12 credits) only requires a further 18 credits to achieve the full Certificate at Level 3.


Since many of the units that form the Level 3 Certificate are also in the Level 4 Diploma, most practitioners achieving the Level 3 Certificate will already have significant credits towards a Level 4 Diploma – in our view the Level 4 Diploma provides an excellent blend of management and training units.


Both the TAQA Assessor and Internal Quality Assurance Awards are part of the new Award, Certificate and Diploma in Learning & Development (Levels 3 and 4).  Units you gained in these qualifications count towards the Learning and Development suite.  This opens up a progression route for Assessors and Verifiers into the broader Learning and Development suite of qualifications.  Certain units that you may have taken as part of your PTLLS also transfer to the Learning & Development qualification.


Contact us if you have any queries - we are happy to assist!

Do you already hold a TAQA or PTLLS qualifcation?

[email protected]